Get the important things ‘rightish’

A friend of mine, Cal Zehr, recently said, “Everyone has a theology, strive to have a good one.” I like that. This is how I understand and practice Cal’s words:  I  don’t strive to have THE ONLY RIGHT AND CERTAIN theology that everyone else must agree with or else they are heretics. I do strive to have a good theology. To me, a  good theology is like a good person.  A good person is not a perfect person who gets everything right, but a kind person that gets the important things ‘rightish’, knows they make mistakes and doesn’t take themselves so seriously that they can’t say, “I messed that up, I was wrong on that, I’m sorry for…, will you forgive me….” and so on.

Be a good person with a good theology, because in reality you will never be a perfect person with a perfect theology. You won’t even be a good person with a perfect theology. You’re not that smart (or more to the point, God’s not that dumb).

Leave a Reply

