Beauty

4 thoughts on “Beauty

  1. As the “booger” of my grade school, of the “fat slob” of high-school, as the weirdo nerd all through out…

    this…

    And I am DESPERATELY afraid of the pain my daughters WILL experience if they show even the slightest little bit of “different”.

    Pray for the “pork chops” of this world… there are more of us than you think…

    1. Thanks for sharing. I have two daughters, (one in college, the other a sophomore in h.s.) and a son (sr. in h.s.) and it can be brutal. I have a friend who has kids the same age as mine. His holder kid was popular. His youngest not as much. As we were talking, he said, “I don’t remember there being bullies when [the older kid] went through school? It’s much worse now [for the younger kid].” My wife and I looked at each other and, with one look, communicated, “Yeah, it’s because your older kid was on the inside (i.e. the bully), not the outside (i.e. the bullied).”

      I recommend Searching for God Knows What by Donald Miller. Great book about this stuff.

      As I think about youth ministry, perhaps this is the space where ministries should enter in? Often youth groups thrive on the very dynamics that lead to kids who are different being bullied and labelled. I was taught that if you want to have a big youth group, you have to get the popular kids. Pragmatically, I see the point. Theologically, it doesn’t seem like a very “Jesus-y” strategy.

      1. Interestingly, the youth group at our home church seems to have more misfits than your standard “popular” kids… That’s because Scott runs it in a way that is less about “Bible Study” and making good “Christian” teens and more about being with kids and helping them through life… the well adjusted kids don’t tend to show up for those kinds of things. 🙂

      2. Very cool. I admit that I’ve stepped back from y. min. in the past couple of years because I became disillusioned with much of what passed for youth ministry. I’m beginning to catch a new vision for what y. min. can accomplish in the lives of kids in the sort of community you are talking about. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

